Thursday, May 29, 2014

CBC Members Who Favor Mass Incarceration

Who in the Congressional Black Caucus voted for three mandatory minimums?
Here’s a list: Reps. Joyce Beatty, Karen Bass, Sanford Bishop, G.K. Butterfield, Andre Carson, Lacy Clay, Emanuel Cleaver, Elijah Cummings, Chaka Fattah, Al Green, Alcee Hastings (introduced H.R.645 - the concentration camp bill - in 2009), Steve Horsford, Robin Kelly, Sheila Jackson Lee, Eddie Bernice Johnson, Greg Meeks, Don Payne, Charlie Rangel, Cedric Richmond, Terri Sewell, Marc Veasey and Frederica Wilson [Hank Johnson, Bobby Rush and Bennie Thompson did not vote, which is the same as voting for mandatory minimums. Silence is consent].

After 30 years of evidence that mandatory sentences drive mass incarceration, it should be obvious that mandatory minimums are bad policy.

Congressional Black Caucus members who withdrew support from H.R.3717 - The Helping Families in Mental Health Crisis Act. Were they and the congress persons who never co-sponsored H.R.3717 promised private prison stock for the mentally ill in their districts who wind up in prison, usually after avoidable crimes?

Rep. Moore, Gwen [D-WI-4]
Rep. Clay, Wm. Lacy [D-MO-1]
Rep. Veasey, Marc A. [D-TX-33]
Rep. Christensen, Donna M. [D-VI-At Large]

H.R.3717 provides for resumption of Medicaid insurance for inpatient psychiatric treatment; an assistance outpatient treatment pilot program, including food, housing, and mandated psychiatric treatment; and crisis intervention training (CIT) for police and prison officers to avoid overuse of force. Most cases of mentally ill people killed by police are black and/or poor. Over 1.25 million mentally ill people are prisoners.

Thank you for participating in the "Human Rights for Prisoners March" across the Internet to demand respect for all people.

Human Rights for Prisoners March
Blogtalkradio - Monday nights at 9pm PST
Mary Neal, director 

Vote Accordingly.

No comments:

Post a Comment